The Governors

The role of the governors

The main functions of the governing body are:

  • to ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • to hold the headteacher to account for the performance of the school
  • to oversee the financial performance of the school and ensure that its money is well spent

Ridgeway High School Governing Body

John Weise Chair of Governors (Foundation Governor), 19 January 2026

Julie Roxburgh Joint Vice-Chair of Governors (Co-opted Governor), 20 September 2024

Rebecca Bartlett Joint Vice-Chair of Governors (Co-opted Governor), 16 September 2025

Gavin Sterry Headteacher (ex officio)

Parent governors are elected by the parents of the students

Rebecca Doyle Parent Governor, 22 October 2024

Paul Frowe Parent Governor, 22 October 2024

Rebecca Steele Parent Governor, 28 April 2026

Cari Wharton Parent Governor, 11 September 2026

Co-opted governors are appointed by the governing body

Gordon Murray Co-opted Governor, 29 September 2023

Tricia King Co-opted Governor, 27 February 2026

Karen Christian Co-opted Governor, 29 September 2023

Lyn Eaton Co-opted Governor, 11 October 2025

Local authority governors are nominated by the local authority and appointed by the governing body

Allan Brame LA-appointed Governor, 19 September 2023

Staff governors are elected by the staff of the school

Rebecca Jarvis Staff Governor, 11 December 2025

Associate governors

Liz Williams Deputy Headteacher

Owen Fields Deputy Headteacher

The dates shown refer to the date on which the person’s term of office expires.